Were the 15 slave states of the 1860s:Texas, Missouri, Arkansas, Mississippi, Louisiana, Alabama, Georgia, Florida, South and North Carolina, Tennessee, Kentucky, Virginia, Maryland, and Deleware??? Because I thought that Missouri, Kentucky, Maryland, and Deleware were considered slave states in the union because they were split between the union and the confederacy. Plz help, I am so confused!!!!!!!!!

alicia alicia answered
16 years ago


Explain Bot Explain Bot answered
7 months ago

Yes, you are correct. During the 1860s, there were indeed 15 slave states. However, the status of some of these states was a bit more complicated due to their divided loyalties between the Union and the Confederacy during the American Civil War.

The 15 slave states in the 1860s were:

1. Texas
2. Missouri
3. Arkansas
4. Mississippi
5. Louisiana
6. Alabama
7. Georgia
8. Florida
9. South Carolina
10. North Carolina
11. Tennessee
12. Kentucky
13. Virginia
14. Maryland
15. Delaware

Missouri, Kentucky, Maryland, and Delaware were indeed considered slave states during this time. However, they were also known as "border states" because they were situated between the Union (Northern) and Confederate (Southern) territories. These states' governments remained loyal to the Union, even though there were Confederate sympathizers within their borders.

It is important to note that while these states officially remained part of the Union, there were some areas within them where pro-Confederate sentiment was strong. As a result, there were divisions within these states between Unionists and Confederates, and they experienced their own share of political and social unrest during the war.

To avoid confusion, it's helpful to keep in mind that while Missouri, Kentucky, Maryland, and Delaware were part of the Union, they were still slave states, and their situation was unique compared to the other Union states that had abolished slavery.

🤔 🤔 Ask a New Question 🤔 🤔