Frieden Company's contribution format income statement for the most recent month is given below:
Sales (46,000 units) $ 966,000
Variable expenses 676,200
Contribution margin 289,800
Fixed expenses 231,840
Net operating income $ 57,960
The industry in which Frieden Company operates is quite sensitive to cyclical movements in the economy. Thus, profits vary considerably from year to year according to general economic conditions. The company has a large amount of unused capacity and is studying ways of improving profits.
New equipment has come on the market that would allow Frieden Company to automate a portion of its operations. Variable expenses would be reduced by $6.30 per unit. However, fixed expenses would increase to a total of $521,640 each month. Prepare two contribution format income statements, one showing present operations and one showing how operations would appear if the new equipment is purchased. (Input all amounts as positive values except losses which should be indicated by minus sign. Round your "Per unit" answers to 2 decimal places. Omit the "$" and "%" signs in your response.)
Amount Per Unit % Amount Per Unit %
$ $ % $ $ %
$ % $ %
Refer to the income statements in (1) above. For both present operations and the proposed new operations, Compute:
a. The degree of operating leverage.
Degree of operating leverage
b. The break-even point in dollars. (Omit the "$" sign in your response.)
Break-even point in dollars $ $
The margin of safety in both dollar and percentage terms. (Omit the "$" and "%" signs in your response.)
Margin of safety in dollars $ $
Margin of safety in percentage % %
Refer again to the data in (1) above. As a manager, what factor would be paramount in your mind in deciding whether to purchase the new equipment? (Assume that ample funds are available to make the purchase.)
Reserves and surplus of the company
Performance of peers in the industry
Cyclical movements in the economy
Stock level maintained
Refer to the original data. Rather than purchase new equipment, the marketing manager argues that the company’s marketing strategy should be changed. Instead of paying sales commissions, which are included in variable expenses, the marketing manager suggests that salespersons be paid fixed salaries and that the company invest heavily in advertising. The marketing manager claims that this new approach would increase unit sales by 50% without any change in selling price; the company’s new monthly fixed expenses would be $289,800; and its net operating income would increase by 25%. Compute the break-even point in dollar sales for the company under the new marketing strategy. (Omit the "$" sign in your response.)
New break even point in dollar sales $
Answer this Question
Math, Please Help!
If 99 people had a mean income of $12,000, how much is the mean income increased by the addition of a single income of $200,000?
XYZ company’s cost function for the next four months is C = 500,000 + 5Q A. Find the BE dollar volume of sales if the selling price is br. 6 / unit B. What would be the company’s cost if it decides to shut down operations for the next four months C.
Christy Burch and Myung Lim, partners, compared their current income statement with their income statement of a year ago. They noted that sales were 12.0% higher than a year ago. They also noted that the total expenses were 20.0% higher than a year ago.
Math Advanced Functions
7. A Company finds that its sales since the company started in 2000 can be modelled by the function s(t)=20t^2+800t+300/8t^2+10t+100, where S is the total sales, in millions of dollars, and t is the number of years since 2000. (a) Calculate the years when
XYZ company’s cost function for the next four months is C=500,000+5Q a) Find the BE dollar volume of sales if the selling price is br.6/unit b) What would be the company’s cost if it decides to shut down operatios for the next four months c) If,
A process began the month with 3,000 units in the beginning work in process inventory and ended the month with 2,000 units in the ending work in process. If 12,000 units were completed and transferred out of the process during the month, how many units
Krollon Company uses the FIFO method in its process costing system. The following data are for the most recent month of operations in one of the company’s processing departments: According to the company’s costing system, the cost of beginning
This table is used to calculate annual commissions and salaries for car salespeople. What would the total yearly earnings of a sales assistant be who has $90,000 in sales? Commission & Salaries- Sales Assistant-Base Salary-$10,000 Sales Person-Base
11. The Sterling Tire Company’s income statement for 2008 is as follows: Given this income statement, compute the following: STERLING TIRE COMPANY Income Statement For the Year Ended December 31, 2008 Sales (20,000 tires at $60 each) . . . . . . . . . .
CollegePak Company produced and sold 60,000 backpacks during the year just ended at an average price of $20 per unit. Variable manufacturing costs were $8 per unit, and variable marketing costs were $4 per unit sold. Fixed costs amounted to $180,000 for